A Daily Dose of Happiness

Happy Lemon's Creative Tea Drinks

Happy Lemon’s Creative Tea Drinks

Are you feeling a little bit sloppy today? Want to recharge with a drink? I know just the place to lift those good  ol’ blues.
I am a tea lover. In fact I go to coffee shops and  order tea. I study with a mug of tea on the side, I work with a mug of tea by my side.  My favorite tea has always been a hot Jasmine Tea, with  no sugar at all. Early last year, a lot of China-based tea shops made its way to the Davao market. There are those who are in stalls, in mall units and food carts, offering diverse tea menu for the consuming public.

One day, when I was strolling along the Peak at Gaisano mall, I noticed this signage, a winking emoticon with a bright yellow lemon like head. When I read the name, Happy Lemon I honestly thought that it was one of those flavored freshly squeezed lemon juice, and I muttered to myself, okay it’s an updated version of Lemonade… until I saw my sister’s Facebook with her drinking a Green Tea Rock Salt and Cheese. That’s when I learned that they are serving tea.

Happy Lemon Signage at  The Peak, Gaisano Mall Davao

Happy Lemon Signage at The Peak, Gaisano Mall Davao

Still, I never got the chance to try happy lemon. That’s why when schoolmate Mauro Carmona asked me if I could tap media friends to come to Happy Lemon’s inauguration and blessing at Gaisano Mall, I was excited to go. So I told Mau that I was willing to help him disseminate the invites to media and blogger friends. I was also happy that he gave the permission to invite as many as could confirm, so off I go thinking of whom to invite for this event.

Chris Tiu and Gaisano Mall of Davao Leasing Manager cuts the Ribbon during the inauguration at Happy Lemon

Chris Tiu and Gaisano Mall of Davao Leasing Manager cuts the Ribbon during the inauguration at Happy Lemon

They hosted a simple ceremony  starting off with the store blessing, then ribbon cutting by one of the owners PBA basketball player Chris Tiu, who also spoke in behalf of  Kelvin and Christine Gaisano who were also present during the event. They declared an open bar, and the guests were able to taste different kinds of tea flavors freshly prepared for them by Happy Lemon’s friendly Batista.

Chris Tiu further explained that they brought the franchise to Manila last November of 2010. It was a collective decision among friends to put up tea business since they always enjoyed drinking bubble tea whenever they went abroad. One time when they were in Hong Kong, they saw people walking while sipping Happy Lemon drinks. Intrigued by what they saw, they followed where the people were coming from and arrived at one Happy Lemon store. Then they ordered drinks. When they tasted it, it was like a eureka moment that this IS the one brand that they were looking for, recalled Chris.

“Bringing Happy Lemon to the Philippines is no easy task” Chris added. We had to endure long waiting time. “We wrote letter after letter, and followed up each one with phone calls but, we received no response whatsoever. And we also had a hard time communicating to them since only Andy (Andy See also part owner) knows how to speak straight Mandarin.

But all efforts were paid off eventually when Happy Lemon headquarters phoned in one day to say yes to them. And that’s the history behind the opening of their first ever branch at the Promenade in Greenhills.

As of today, there already thirteen (13) branches of Happy Lemon in Manila. One in Davvao City and soon to open in SM Lanang Premier, and SM Annex later this year. Outside Davao City, they will also be opening a branch in Ayala Center Cebu and Ayala Centrio in Cagayan de Oro.

Here’s my drink recommendation for all you who are curious of what to order. Let me know if it also works for you.

  • Green Tea with Rock Salt and Cheese =====> my personal favorite!
  • Lemon Yakult Mousse Spin
  • Cocoa with Rock Salt and Cheese
  • Milk Tea with Oreo Cookie and Cream
  • Milk Tea King with Pudding
Happy Lemon's slogan

Happy Lemon’s slogan

Happy Lemon's Rock Salt and Cheese Line (Flavors: Choco, Coffee, Green Tea)

Happy Lemon’s Rock Salt and Cheese Line (Flavors: Choco, Coffee, Green Tea)

Leave a Reply

