Straight From My Kitchen:Egg Tarts

Being raised with Chinese influence from both ends of the family yields two things: First, you get to take part of the very rich history of the oldest civilization on Earth, and Second, you get to eat all authentic and yummy food that you can prepare straight out of your kitchen.

Both my father and mother’s side of the family has their own prized recipes that has been kept in check for generations. My grandfathers, both war refugees from China found a second home in the Philippines, and made a lovely home for my Filipina grandmothers. And when you make good homes, one of the most integral part of it is the food that your family partakes from day-to-day. And although it was unfortunate,that I did not have the chance to meet and spend more time with these men, I believe they still live on with the wonderful food that we cook and eat as a family.

One of the afternoon snacks that I came to love is the EGG TART.  Historically speaking, Egg Tarts are part of the Dim Sum menu, which are very frequent in tea gardens during the 1940’s. Egg tarts are generally milk and egg custards in pastry crust. It is very easy to make, and can be stored for a week. It is best served with your favorite tea blend, or coffee if you prefer.

Traditional Pasteis de Nata, From Portugal

The best commercial Egg Tarts are found in Hong-Kong and Macau. Portugal too, has a version of the Egg Tart which they call Pasteis de Nata or Pasteis de Belem from Lisbon. The difference between the two is perhaps the more intricate preparation of the pastry crust of the Pasteis de Nata, and the custard has this ” Crème brúlée” taste and feel to it, coupled with wonderful flavors of either Cinnamon, Nutmeg or Lemon Peel on top.  The Chinese style Egg Tarts are relatively simpler since you have the molders to assist you in making the crust, and the custard is just the same that with our very own Leche Flan.

Our Version of the Pasteis de Nata (special thanks to Charisse Canave of Cake Gallerie)

But why is this little Egg Tart a big hit in China? The answer lies in its yellow color. In Feng Shui, the color yellow is considered to be as auspicious as red. Yellow represents sunbeams, warmth, motion, cheerfulness and friendliness. And when you get all of these vibes, you become relaxed and optimistic (that’s what I felt when I saw my tarts from the oven haha)

So there I was one lazy Sunday Afternoon, I decided to visit the kitchen again and make some Egg Tarts. I started prepping the ingredients 1:45 and it was out of the oven in time for merienda. I was able to produce 2 dozens of mini egg tarts on one batch alone. I was really happy the tarts came out beautifully, since I’m really not a successful baker on most attempts.  My first taste testers were my Mom and siblings who definitely enjoyed the treat. I plan on sharing this with other friends on the next days to come, as to spread the goodwill and happiness to all.

Send me a message if you want to test my Egg Tarts!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Straight From My Kitchen:Egg Tarts

  1. Looking at your egg tarts is making me salivate chi, hahaha I love egg tarts…especially freshly baked ones…maybe soon chi will try to get one from you oh yeah!!.. :))

Leave a Reply

